Cambodia: It sparked my light and opened my heart

Have you ever just had an overwhelming need to visit somewhere? I mean like the idea just pops into your head one day, you know very little about the country…the history or its people. And when you land, there’s an overwhelming sense of happiness that floods through your soul and fill you up, like you’re ready to burst.

This happened to me last year. I did not even really know where it was. I decided in February I was going there, and in August I stepped on the airplane. I flew to Bangkok, Thailand for a brief couple of days stop off. This experience in itself was amazing. The people I met, the area I stayed, the temples I visited and the sights I saw. The vibrant capital of Thailand did not disappoint.

image
Palace in Bangkok Buddhist Monks

The feeling however of being in Bangkok did not compare to that of landing in Siem Reap in Cambodia.  As soon as I stepped foot off the plane, the sun was shining and I was instantly filled with happiness. For the whole time I spent in Siem Reap I felt the same. So much do that I actually cut my stay in the south of the island to return. It was pure magic. Its hardly surprising with all the temples (including the mighty Angkor Wat) and it being steeped in history. The people are the friendliest I’ve met (in the world) so far.

image

The hostel we were staying at sent us a tuk tuk driver to come and collect us. As soon as we saw him we fell in love with the guy. Smiling from ear to ear, he was so happy to see us and welcome us to his country.

Above is photograph I took on the way to the hostel in Siem Reap capturing not only our lovely tuk tuk driver  (Chettra) whom I may add stayed with us our whole stay; but also a make shift fire truck! (to the left) close up below:

image

I have so many stories to tell and they will be shared, but for now I will leave you with a few of my photographs from the amazing Siem Reap, Cambodia

image

image

image

image

image

Wherever you are drawn to there’s a reason. Cambodia opened heart, widened my horizons and I now have a lasting connection which stretches around the world.

image

Leave a Reply

